The Mental Health Service Awards of
Australia and
New Zealand

About the Awards

The Mental Health Service Awards of Australia and New Zealand recognise innovation, research excellence, best practice and lived experience leadership in mental health services. They also aim to reduce stigma by acknowledging responsible media reporting of mental health issues and encourage others to promote the importance of mental health and wellbeing.

Award winners are honoured at a prestigious ceremony each year, as part of TheMHS Annual Conference. They also receive a three- day conference registration, financial support to attend an ‘in person’ conference, and recognition on TheMHS website and media materials.

When are the TheMHS Awards?

The next Awards will be presented at TheMHS 2023 Adelaide Conference.

Entries now open!

We acknowledge the Commonwealth Government Department of Health’s longstanding support for the Awards, which has enabled recognition of significant individuals, programs, research and services in mental health since 1992.

How to Apply?

It’s free to submit an entry to the Awards.

Simply click on the Awards Categories below to see which category of Award best fits with your intended entry. Once you’re there, go through all the criteria and information you will need to provide to participate successfully. Then, download the PDF document to see the rules, guidelines and disclaimers that apply for that specific category and follow the process before clicking on the APPLY button.

Note: Award Winner’s from the previous year are not eligible to enter a submission

Key Dates 2021

Key Dates

  • Service & Program, Research and Exceptional Contribution – Awards Entries close 20th of April 2023
  • Wellbeing in the Workplace – Awards Entries close 20th of April 2023
  • Media Awards Open – Awards Entries close 20th of April 2023


Early Career
Research Awards

Exceptional Contribution Award

Media Journalism Awards

Service and
Program Awards


Tom Trauer Evaluation and Research Award

in the Workplace Award

Meet our 2022 Award winners

People from all parts of mental health services have been recognised for their vital contributions to addressing mental health issues across Australia and New Zealand, in the TheMHS Mental Health Service Awards.

Seventeen awards across thirteen categories have been presented to individuals and organisations across the mental health sector, including clinicians, educators, researchers and service managers at the 2022 Mental Health Services Conference in Sydney. 

The Awards acknowledge and promote: best-practice in the delivery of mental health services; innovation, consumer-focus and lived-experience leadership; excellence in mental health research; as well as media and journalism that helps decrease the stigma which can still be associated with mental distress.

Congratulations to all our 2022 Award Winners!