About TheMHS Learning Network Inc.

TheMHS Learning Network (pronounced “themes”, and an acronym for ‘The Mental Health Services Learning Network’) is an international learning network for improving mental health services in Australia and New Zealand. TheMHS Learning Network is a registered charity run by a volunteer Board.

TheMHS Learning Network events bring together people from across Australia and New Zealand to stimulate debates that challenge the boundaries of present knowledge and ideas about mental health care and mental health systems.

We believe in promoting positive attitudes about mental health and mental illness.

TheMHS Learning Network's Mission is to:
  • Recognise and promote quality collaborative research, practice, policy-making and knowledge exchange through education, training and other learning experiences;
  • Promote active involvement and inclusion of all mental health stakeholders;
  • Develop innovative approaches for engagement, collaboration and sharing across the mental health sectors of Australia & New Zealand;
  • Advocate and promote leadership in the mental health field.
Strategic Priorities 2019

By 2021, we will:

  • Ensure our long-term sustainability by investing in our capacity.
    This ensures our financial, marketing and operational activities have the resources to inspire new directions and deliver concrete outcomes.
  • Share the journey to improve mental health services through sustained relationships.
    We can better achieve our mission by working in partnership with others.
  • Build on our unique leadership in the mental health sector by setting clear directions and taking bold steps to achieve our mission.
    This will reinvigorate our commitment to change and motivate others to join us

Our People

TheMHS Board Members
  • Cath Chapman (Chair)
  • Lynne Dunbar (Secretary)
  • Kevin Kellehear
  • Vivienne Miller
  • Fiona Orr
  • Sadie Robertson
  • Alan Rosen
  • Tully Rosen (Treasurer)
  • Megan Still
  • Stephen Suttie (Deputy Chair)
  • Maree Teesson
TheMHS Association Members
  • Tom Brideson
  • Maria Cassaniti
  • Michelle Everett
  • Roger Gurr
  • Paula Hanlon
  • Tim Heffernan
  • Peter McGeorge
  • Marilyn McMurchie
  • Barbara Tooth
TheMHS Learning Network Staff

Jane Austin
Executive Director

Alexis Linton
Events and Operations Manager

Merissa Lam
Events Coordinator

Our Indigenous Acknowledgement

TheMHS Learning Network acknowledge the Wangal people of the Eora Nation as the traditional owners of the land on which our office is located.

We also acknowledge the traditional owners of the lands in the location that our annual conference takes place across Australia and New Zealand.

The Wharerātā Declaration 2010 and the Gayaa Dhuwi (Proud Spirit) Declaration 2015 have also been adopted by TheMHS Learning Network and inform our deliberations.


Help close the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander mental health gap by pledging support for the Gayaa Dhuwi (Proud Spirit) Declaration. Individuals and organisations are encouraged to make the pledge, which has been organised by the National Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Leadership in Mental Health group.

More information about the Gayaa Dhuwi (Proud Spirit) Declaration and Pledge can be located at http://natsilmh.org.au/