Mental Health Service Awards

Constructive Conversations Webinar Series


People from all parts of mental health services have been recognised for their vital contributions to addressing mental health issues across Australia and New Zealand, in the TheMHS Mental Health Service Awards.

Fourteen Awards across eleven categories have been presented to individuals and organisations at this week’s ‘Hope into Action’ Conference Awards Ceremony, hosted by TheMHS Learning Network and attended online by over 500 mental health professionals on both sides of the Tasman.

The Awards acknowledge and promote: best-practice in the delivery of mental health services; innovation, consumer-focus and lived-experience leadership; excellence in mental health research; as well as media and journalism that helps decrease the stigma which can still be associated with mental distress.

The 14 Awards and their recipients are:

Education, Training or Workforce Development Award : e-Mental Health in Practice, for its programme, eMHPrac - providing training and support to health practitioners in using digital mental health.

Lived Experience Leadership Award : Lived Experience Australia for its programme, Making a difference with and for consumers and carers.

Mental Health Promotion or Mental Illness Prevention Award : The Matilda Centre, University Of Sydney for Climate Schools: Internet-based health and wellbeing programs for secondary school students.

Mental Health Promotion or Mental Illness Prevention Award : Arts Centre Melbourne, for The Arts Wellbeing Collective.

Psychosocial and Support Award : ACT Recovery College for ACT Recovery College Trial.

Therapeutic and Clinical Services Award : Tū Ora Compass Health for Piki: Empowering and supporting rangatahi towards better health and wellbeing.

Therapeutic and Clinical Services Award : Orygen Digital for Moderated Online Social Therapy (MOST): digitally enhancing youth mental health services.

General Award : Kapiti Youth Support, for The KYS Approach.

Early Career Research Award : Stephen Parker, for his work, “Understanding community-based residential mental health rehabilitation services in Australia”.

Early Career Research Award : Katrina Prior, for her work, “‘Inroads’ and ‘Re-Train Your Brain’: Innovative internet-delivered interventions for young people who drink to cope with anxiety”.

Sound and Vision Journalism Award : Sam Ikin with Butterfly Foundation, for Butterfly: Let’s Talk podcast.

Text and Online Journalism Award : Bridget Judd, for her article, “It takes a village”.

Exceptional Contribution Award : Fran Silvestri in recognition of a highly skilled and creative collaborator, becoming a crucial connector within the mental health community and bringing significant contribution to leadership within the mental health sector locally, nationally and globally.

Wellbeing in the Workplace Category : Air New Zealand for Air New Zealand Mental Health and Wellbeing Programme.

Congratulations to all our 2021 Award Winners!