Skip Navigation

TheMHS Awards

For Service, Program, Research, Outstanding Contribution Awards submissions CLOSING DATE EXPIRED


Any late submissions, please contact either or 02 9810 8700.

Awarding and recognising best practice, excellence and innovation in mental health service delivery and honouring individuals who have made an exceptional contribution to mental health across Australia and New Zealand since 1992.

Prizes are awarded in each category. Winners will receive Financial support to attend the 2018 TheMHS Conference in Adelaide including travel, accommodation and a complimentary 3-day conference registration. Winners will also receive recognition on our website, in the Conference eBook of Proceedings, the TheMHS Awards Booklet and the Online Resource Collection.


2018 Brochure Cover





For further information about the 2018 TheMHS Awards, download the Awards brochure.









About TheMHS Awards

Now in their 27th year, TheMHS Awards were first introduced at The Mental Health Services (TheMHS) Conference in 1992.

Join us at TheMHS Conference 2018 as we recognise and celebrate great work in mental health services. 

The Awards were established to provide a focus for “good news” stories about mental health, to increase the morale and quality of mental health services throughout both countries and to reward the dedication and commitment of mental health service staff and management. These Awards reward services and individuals who are changing the way services are delivered, in accord with the National Mental Health Strategy. 

The award categories have changed over the period of time to reflect the changing emphasis of the Strategy. There are seven categories for Programs and Services. These programs demonstrate best practice models, innovation and genuine consumer participation.

The Outstanding Contribution Awards recogise Australians and New Zealand individuals who have had a outstanding impact on mental health service delivery and acknowledge a remarkable accomplishment and wide sphere of influence. The Oustanding Contribution Awards encompass the long running and prestigious Award for Exceptional Contribution by an Individual;  and the top award, the TheMHS Medal for Mental Health.

Award Winners

Image: 2017 Exceptional Contribution Winners: Helen Morton, Pamela Rutledge; photographed with Hon Greg Hunt. TheMHS Medal 2017 winner -  Mental Health First Aid Australia - Betty Kitchener OAM and Nataly Bovopoulos photographed with Professor Marie Bashir

TheMHS Media Awards recognise excellence and accuracy of media coverage about mental health and are awarded in three categories: Text Journalism, Sound/Vision Journalism, and Special Media Journalism.

TheMHS Awards program has further developed recently by introducing the Tom Trauer Evaluation and Research Award, the Early Career Researcher Awards for Innovation, Best Practice and Excellence,

The 2018 TheMHS Awards for Mental Health will be presented at the annual TheMHS Conference in Adelaide. TheMHS Conference is one of the largest and most diverse mental health conferences in Australasia and therefore is an ideal vehicle for such an Award scheme.


TheMHS Awards Aim To:

  • Promote the delivery of good mental health services
  • Encourage consumer-focused services
  • Recognise good practice
  • Reward dedication and commitment  to service delivery and increase staff morale
  • Create “good news” stories about mental health issues and to decrease stigma


Review Panels, Award Categories

Each year approximately 50 - 60 applications are received for the Service Awards, Research Awards and Outstanding Contribution Awards and approximately 40 applications are received for the Media Awards. Review panels are convened for each of the categories. 

TheMHS Award panels represent the diverse range of mental health stakeholders – consumers, clinicians, managers, carers, etc; states, territories, bi-national

The award categories change a little each year to reflect current mental health issues and National Mental Health Strategies. The rating criteria is designed to reward good practice - evidence-based, consumer-focused, quality and evaluation oriented programs and services. A visitor to award-winning services will often see the award certificate framed and hung on the wall in a prominent position in the service or organisation. Award winners will receive a complimentary 3-day conference registration, a complimentary air fare to attend TheMHS Conference and TheMHS Awards presentation ceremony, complimentary accommodation and a display certificate.



Long-standing funding has been received from both the Australian Government (since 1993 through the Department of Health) and the New Zealand Government (since 1995 through the Ministry of Health).

This support enables winners to receive assistance to attend TheMHS Conference and TheMHS Awards Presentation ceremony as well as their awards certificates.