The Mental Health Service Awards of Australia and New Zealand

2020 Awards Brochure


Awarding and recognising best practice, excellence and innovation in mental health service delivery and honouring individuals who have made an exceptional contribution to mental health across Australia and New Zealand since 1992.

TheMHS Awards Aim To:
  • Promote the delivery of good mental health services
  • Encourage consumer-focused services
  • Recognise good practice
  • Reward dedication and commitment  to service delivery and increase staff morale
  • Create “good news” stories about mental health issues and to decrease stigma


Prizes are awarded in each category. Winners receive Financial support to attend TheMHS Conference including travel, accommodation and a complimentary 3-day conference registration. Winners also receive recognition on our website, in the Conference eBook of Proceedings, the TheMHS Awards Booklet and the Online Resource Collection.

We are delighted to announce the 2019 TheMHS Awards winners.

The Hon Greg Hunt, MP, Federal Minister for Health presented The Mental Health Service Awards of Australia and New Zealand at TheMHS Conference on Wednesday 28 August 2019 at the Brisbane Convention and Exhibition Centre.

Dame Quentin Bryce

Thanking the 2019 Awards Ambassador
The Honourable Dame Quentin Bryce AD CVO

Quentin Bryce was made an Officer of the Order of Australia in 1988 and a Companion of the Order of Australia in 2003. Also in 2003, she was invested as a Dame of Grace of the Most Venerable Order of the Hospital of St John of Jerusalem. On 25 March 2014, Prime Minister Tony Abbott announced that Ms Bryce had become a Dame in the Order of Australia.

Ms Bryce is Patron-in-Chief of SANE Australia.

2020 Key Dates

Service and Program, Early Career Research and Exceptional Contribution Awards

12 November 2019
Submissions Open
Wednesday 8th April 2020
Submissions Deadline

Media Journalism Awards

10 December 2019
Submissions Open
Wednesday 29 April 2020
Submissions Deadline
26 August 2020
Presentation of all TheMHS Awards at TheMHS Conference

Award Categories

About the Exceptional Contribution Award
Exceptional Contribution to Mental Health Service in Australia or New Zealand
About the Service Awards
Program and Service Awards
About the Media Award
Media Awards


Award Winners